Pieces

Crucifixion

Crucifixion (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

He said:
“Peace I leave you…”
I like that,
Images of lazy summer days,
Friends and family,
Evenings round an open fire…

“My peace I give you…”
Even better!
For surely God’s peace is best;
A weekend without a Monday,
A summer without a fall,
Joy everlasting,
And no more crying…

“It’s not like the world’s peace…”
And I stop, stunned,
Watching my peace-giver prostrate,
Sweating drops as of blood,
In Gethsemane.

And I wonder:
Is this a gift I really want?
As I watch His peace trickle down
From His open hand
Nailed to the cross.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

I would love to hear your thoughts...

